GIA Design Awards 2018



the GIA Design Awards  2018

The annual GIA Awards are recognised at local and national level and are one of the main highlights of the annual GIA programme.

The Supreme Award winner, Awards winners and Commendations were announced at the GIA Annual Members Dinner at at BAaD on Friday 23rd of November with catering by A’Challtainn. DETAILS>>

If you require any further information contact


Office/ Commercial/ Industrial/ Retail


Small Works (under £250,000)



Leisure/ Arts



All entries will be considered for the following additional awards:

The GIA Supreme Award

The supreme Award can be awarded to any of the shortlisted buildings, the best body of work by an individual or a practice, or for an outstanding contribution to the GIA. This is only awarded when the quality and ambition of the work is truly exceptional and outstanding.

Wood for Good Award

Wood for Good is the timber industry’s campaign to promote use of wood in design and construction and in collaboration with the GIA, this award could be given to any of the shortlisted projects that demonstrate excellence in the application of timber technology.

The GIA Sustainabilty & Conservation Awards

All entries will be judged against the criteria of sustainability and conservation and an award will be given to the project that, in the opinion of the judges, best meets this criteria.

Rules &


The awards are open to Chartered Architects, individuals or practices based in the GIA Chapter area and buildings within the UK & Ireland. They are also open to practices that are not members of the GIA but have completed buildings within the GIA Chapter area. 

Buildings should be complete at the time of entry submission – the building’s completion should be between June 2017 and August 2018. Clients must be notified of any entry to the awards.


Entries will be judged by category. Judges will be assessing entries against the criteria of ‘good architecture and buildings, whether new or adapted, which express good design in terms of function and effectiveness as well as aesthetics’.

Judging will take place over October and shortlisted buildings will be visited by the judges. Please give contact information for the judges to arrange access to the building. Entrants (architects) should not attend on judges visits.

The GIA reserve the right not to grant an award or commendation in any or all categories. The judges’ decisions will be final.

Chair Judge: 

Biba Dow

We are delighted to have Biba Dow as our guest head judge this year to ensure that the judging team are kept in line and that the standards are maintained in the process of working through what we expect to be a high quality spread of work from within our chapter. Biba was born in London and studied architecture at the University of Cambridge. After graduating, she worked for conservation practice Caroe and Partners, on a range of buildings including Rochester Cathedral; and then for Powell and Moya, working on a new mental health hospital in Hove. In 2000, she established Dow Jones Architects with Alun Jones.

Biba has led a range of complex arts, heritage and community buildings within the practice. Current projects include a new centre for Maggie’s Cancer Care in Cardiff, the Garden Museum in London and new buildings for St Mary Magdalene Church and Bevis Marks Synagogue.

Biba has taught architecture at a number of UK universities;, teaching a diploma unit at the Cass and being a visiting critic at Cambridge University, Kingston School of Architecture, and at other schools. She is an external examiner at Kingston School of Architecture and a member of the Old Oak & Park Royal Place Review Panel.

She writes about architecture and culture in a variety of publications, and has lectured widely on the work of her practice.

Biba was shortlisted for Architect of the Year for the Women in Architecture Awards 2018, for her work on the Garden Museum and she is a school governor and a mentor for a charity which supports homeless people.


Our Sponsors